1 Comment

Peppermint Cakes

My first somewhat successful attempt at a layer cake was around christmas. I discovered that it is entirely possible to have too little icing, but it was still very delicious.

‘Twas a dark chocolate cake layered with peppermint white chocolate swiss meringue buttercream icing. I also put crushed candy canes in-between the layers for an interesting peppermint-y crunch, and garnished with with shaved white chocolate.

I also made a cupcake version for a different event. For some reason unbeknownst to me, it is apparently impossible to find peppermint candy canes that are only red & white, and so my more grandiose cupcake dreams had to be compromised. An earlier experiment with peppermint fudge taught me that red & green never stay as separate as you think they will, and brown peppermint (I’m sure you’ll concur) is significantly less appetizing.

One comment on “Peppermint Cakes

  1. Everything looks delicious, as I know they are! GinaMaria

Let me know what you think!

