2 Comments

Coconut-Rum Cupcakes

Coconut is something that it is impossible to go wrong with. As you will probably see over time, I love everything to do with coconut. I’ve made coconut-lime cupcakes previously, and coconut and rum just seemed like an excellent flavour combination.

I made a basic vanilla cupcake, using coconut milk instead of almond (or regular) milk, with a little extra vanilla extract and 2-3 tablespoons of rum. I think it was a little heavy on the liquid as they were slightly denser than normal. You could also add fresh coconut flakes into the batter; I didn’t only because I didn’t have any.

Next, I made a vanilla swiss meringue buttercream icing and added (¡Qué sorpresa!) rum to it. Add to taste, but be careful not to add too much or it will ruin the texture of icing. Beat well if you add it to an existing batch.

Once the cupcakes have cooled, cut a little cone out from the middle of each one; reserve the cones.

Mix together an approximate amount of rum & coconut milk and spoon into the indentations, replace cone of cake.

Next, ice your cupcakes! I garnished them with a sprinkling of cinnamon, but you could also use coconut flakes, or pretty much anything you want. Some sort-of rum reduction would probably also work well.

Finally, enjoy your cupcakes! It’s best to let them sit in the fridge a few hours or overnight so the flavours can ‘mature’ (I’m going to pretend that is the appropriate word to use and that I actually know what I’m doing).

2 comments on “Coconut-Rum Cupcakes

  1. These look delicious! I am looking for different recipes to use on my blog and would like to use yours that you have posted here. You have a great blog! I am going to add to my favorites on my page.

  2. Great combination of flavors for these cupcakes!

Let me know what you think!

