1 Comment

Let me guess… someone stole your sweetroll?

While my gaming is pretty limited to tabletop/RPG games, Skyrim was one video game which I loved (even if I spent most of my time running amok and exploring as much as possible rather than actually doing anything particularly useful. Perhaps that was why? Anyway.)

I really like the idea of making the food in games and books real.* I remember wanting to roast apples wrapped in bacon like they did in Narnia as a child. Sadly, but probably for the best, I wasn’t allowed matches at such a young age and that never quite came to fruition.

Since then I’ve managed to make Starcraft & Super Mario-themed cakes, but I think this is first time I’ve tried to reproduce an in-game item.** As it is, I’m fairly pleased with the results.

Sweet rolls have quite a characteristic shape, and while I’ve seen easier methods  (mainly carving holes in cupcakes), I was exceptionally stubborn and single-mindedly searched for a single mini bundt pan in three different cities before I successfully located one. While it’s a little more ornate than the simple sweet rolls of Skyrim, I was most happy with it.

I adapted Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero’s recipe for Vegan Vanilla Cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World (if you don’t have this already, I highly recommend it) for the cake part. Mine were slightly darker than I would have liked, so the recipe below uses less molasses than the cakes pictured.

Ingredients

1 cup soy milk (I had about ¼ cup of molasses, and then filled the rest up with soymilk. If you measure you canola oil before the molasses, it slides right out and doesn’t leave a delightful sticky residue in your measuring cup).

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

1¼ cups all-purpose flour

2 Tbsp. cornstarch

¾ tsp. baking powder

½ tsp. baking soda

¼ tsp. salt (increase salt to ½ teaspoon if you’re using oil instead of margarine)

⅓ cup canola oil

¾ cup (brown) sugar

2 ½ tsp. vanilla extract

Cinnamon, nutmeg & all-spice, to taste.

Steps
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bundt pan (or cupcake pan)
2. Whisk the soy milk and vinegar in a measuring cup and set aside for a few minutes to get good and curdled.
4.  Sift in the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt, and mix until no large lumps remain. Make a hole in the dry ingredients.
5.Pour in the molasses/soy milk mixture, oil, sugar, vanilla, and other extracts, if using, in a large bowl.
6. Fill cake pan two-thirds of the way and bake for 20 to 22 minutes. Transfer to a cooling rack, and let cool completely before frosting.

This will make about a dozen normal sized cupcakes, or 3 mini bundt cakes.

Icing

I decided to go with a cream cheese icing to cover the the top, as I felt it’s consistency and colour would be the closest to a sweet roll.

I didn’t exactly use a recipe for this. Depending on how many cakes you made, I would start with about 1/2 package of cream cheese at room temperature and use electric beaters or a large wooden spoon to beat it until creamy,  then slowly add milk (I used almond milk, you could use any sort you wish) just until it reaches a slightly pourable consistency. Be careful not to make it too liquidy, else ’twill just run sadly down the sides of your cakes. Add sugar & vanilla extract to taste. Carefully spoon your frosting along the tops of the cakes.

Finally, enjoy your sweet rolls! Just don’t wander down any alleyways with one…

Let me know what you think of these, or if you have any other suggestions for game-related things you think I should attempt to create.

*On a related note, one of my current favourite blogs is Inn at the Crossroads, which does a spectacular job at creating the food from Game of Thrones, frequently with both a historical and modern version of the recipe. I love being able to see how people prepared things several hundred years ago.

**I sort-of lied. I forgot I made Nuka-Cola & Nuka-Cola Quantum from Fallout, but as that was mostly “look, I’m capable of putting things on & in a bottle!” I don’t think it quite counts.

One comment on “Let me guess… someone stole your sweetroll?

  1. Reblogged this on Simply Volcanic and commented:
    Skyrim and cooking = the best! Can’t wait to get my sweetroll on, one of these days (Although everyone knows you can’t get a decent one in Whiterun :P)

Let me know what you think!

